About Us Research Groups Publications Rappaport Prize Conferences News Links Contact Us  

Prof. Aaron Ciechanover Elected Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

28 April, 2008

Nobel Prize laureate in chemistry, Research Prof. Aaron Ciechanover of the Technion’s Rappaport

Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute, is one of the new members of the American Academy of

Arts and Sciences. The Academy is one of the oldest and most distinguished associations in the US

(it was founded in 1780) and one of the largest independent research centers in that country.


Among the new members announced by the Academy are scientists, artists and those in the humanities,

as well as other fields. We are talking about 190 new members and 22 honorary foreign members who

are leaders in their fields, among them Nobel Prize laureates as well as winners of other distinguished

prizes – Pulitzer, Pritzker, Academy Award and Gramies, as well a honorary doctorates from the

Kennedy Center. The new foreign members hail from Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, Canada,

Mexico and Israel.


The 212 new members – academics, scientists, artists, civic leaders, businessman and philanthropists –

come from 20 states and 15 countries. They range in age from 37 to 86. The new members represent

more than 50 universities and more than 10 organizations including museums, national laboratories,

private research institutes, foundations and the communication media.


Prof. Ciechanover is the 2003 Israel Prize winner in biology research and a member of the Israel

Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 2004.

Related Links

BioRap Technologies Ltd.


Faculty of Medicine

Important Events

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004

Professors Avram Hershko and Aaron Ciechanover - winners of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
  1 Efron Street, P.O. Box 9697, Haifa 31096, Israel,
Tel: 972-4-829-5365, Fax: 972-4-855-2296, Email: edelman@tx.technion.ac.il
2006 Rappaport Institute. All Rights Reserved. Created by Catom web design