About Us Research Groups Publications Rappaport Prize Conferences News Links Contact Us  



The Rappaport Family Institute for Research in the Medical Sciences was established in 1982 through the bold initiative and generous support of the Rappaport family and a partnership with the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology.  The stated primary objective of both parties was to achieve scientific and academic excellence and the continued growth and development of the Rappaport Institute and the Technion Faculty of Medicine.

Looking back, this objective was pursued with great success. Over the years, thanks to continual support of Rappaport family, leading edge research carried out at the Rappaport Institute and the Technion faculty of Medicine contributed significantly to a deeper understanding of the complex inner workings of the human body, and has opened new doors toward treatments.  In fact, Mr. Bruce Rappaport had made the prediction that the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and the Research Institute at the Technion would yield research discoveries that merited recognition at the level of the Nobel Prize. Indeed, this courageous prediction became a reality, with the awarding of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Rappaport Institute members Professors Avram Hershko and Aaron Ciechanover, for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.

Where the future is concerned, opportunities and challenges abound. We are witnessing an explosive growth in biomedical knowledge – both along traditional, detailed lines of study and along new avenues opened by the development of high throughput systems and the massive data sets these generate. We are also witnessing the erosion of traditional borders between life sciences and medicine, on the one hand, and the exact sciences and engineering disciplines on the other. The profile of the bright and young scientists attracted to biomedical research is changing, with increasingly larger numbers of these arriving with strong backgrounds in physics, computer science and engineering. The expanded language, terminology and discourse are creating new and exciting opportunities for research, in particular within a world-class technological institution, and are spilling over into the education of physicians and research students alike. Yet this broader discourse also presents challenges in terms of attracting individuals with appropriate interests and skills, providing the necessary infrastructure and creating stimulating intellectual environments.

It is here where the Rappaport Institute has an incredibly important role to play, and it is a great honor for me to take part in shaping this future.

Noam E. Ziv






Related Links

BioRap Technologies Ltd.


Faculty of Medicine

Important Events

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004

Professors Avram Hershko and Aaron Ciechanover - winners of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
  1 Efron Street, P.O. Box 9697, Haifa 31096, Israel,
Tel: 972-4-829-5365, Fax: 972-4-855-2296, Email: edelman@tx.technion.ac.il
2006 Rappaport Institute. All Rights Reserved. Created by Catom web design